--- title: "Create and use workflow designer" slug: "create-and-use-workflow-designer" description: "Create and use workflow designer" updated: 2026-02-28T10:04:17Z published: 2026-02-28T09:31:51Z canonical: "docs.document360.com/create-and-use-workflow-designer" --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://docs.document360.com/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # Create and use workflow designer This guide provides a comprehensive step-by-step process for creating, updating, and deleting workflow statuses in Document360. It includes instructions on how to add a new status, assign users and groups, and manage existing statuses within the workflow designer interface. ## Navigate to 'Settings' in the left navigation bar Navigate to Settings by clicking the gear icon located at the bottom of the left sidebar. ## Select 'Workflow designer' from the 'Knowledge base portal' menu In the settings menu, click Workflow designer to access the workflow configuration page. ## Click the 'Create workflow status' button On the workflow designer page, click the Create workflow status button located at the top right to create a new workflow status. ## Use the (+) icon as an alternative Alternatively, click the (+) icon available between existing workflow statuses in the Workflow designer page to create a new status. ## Enter a workflow status name In the Create workflow status panel, enter an appropriate name. This is a required field. ## Add a description (optional) Provide a description for the workflow status in the Description field. This is optional. ## Expand 'Auto assign to' dropdown Expand the dropdown menu to select default assignees for the workflow status. ## Select 'Users' for auto assign Select the users you want to assign automatically from the Users tab. ## Select 'Group' for auto assign. If needed, go to the Groups tab and select the groups you want to automatically assign for review. ## Click 'Apply' to auto assign Click Apply to confirm the users and groups you have automatically assigned. ## Enable 'Read-only' Turn the Read-only toggle on or off. If the Read-only toggle is turned on, users will not be able to edit the article or category page when the article is set to the specified workflow status. Additionally, users will not be allowed to publish the article. ## Save the workflow status Click Add to save. The status will be inserted at the intended point in the workflow. ## Edit an existing workflow status Click the Edit icon and the Update status panel will appear. You can edit the Name , and Description , update the Read-only option or update auto-assign. ## Update the workflow status Click Update to confirm the changes. ## Reorder workflow statuses The reorder icon is available on the left adjacent to each status. Drag and drop the reorder icon to arrange statuses in your preferred order. ## Delete a workflow status Click the Delete icon to remove a status. ## Confirm 'Delete' dialog In the confirmation dialog, click Delete to remove the status permanently. Deleting the status will move all articles in this status to the previous status automatically. The default assignee will no longer be associated with articles. ## Task Completion You have now successfully created the workflow status.