- Mis à jour le 15 Jan 2020
- 2 Minutes à lire
One of Document360’s flagship features is that you can have multiple versions of your project.
For example, if your project has a major upcoming release, and your documentation team needs to document all the new features, they can make a new project version that isn’t public that allows them to work on all the existing docs without changing the public version.
You can access the Project Version Manager by clicking the project version dropdown in the Documentation Editor and then selecting Manage Version, or by clicking Versions in Settings.
By default, when a project is created in Document360, it is labeled "v1", set as the main and public version.
Creating a new project version
In Settings, open Versions.
Click Add New Version button.
Choose a base version to create a copy of the documentation from.
If desired, enter a display name for the version that better describes what the version contains (for example: My Product - 3.9.0).
Project version states
Once a project is created, you can apply four different states to it:
- Main Version: If enabled, and there are multiple public versions, it will be the default version users see when they visit your knowledge base.
- Is beta?: If enabled, a “Beta” tag will show next to the version name in the Documentation editor and knowledge base project version dropdowns. There can be multiple beta versions, as well as multiple public beta versions.
- Is public?: If enabled, the version will be available in the version selector in the knowledge base. Any version can be made public, even a deprecated or beta version.
- Is deprecated?: If enabled, a “Deprecated” tag will show next to the version name in the Documentation editor and knowledge base project version dropdowns. There can be multiple deprecated versions, as well as multiple public deprecated versions.
Here is an example of a knowledge base with beta and deprecated versions.
To change or apply a project version state:
- Find the version you want to change or apply a state to
- Select/deselect the state option you want to apply or change.
Deleting a Project Version
- In Settings, open Versions.
- On the version you want to delete, click the Delete Icon.