Managing reader groups
  • 19 Aug 2022
  • 3 Minuten zu lesen
  • Mitwirkende
  • Dunkel
    Licht
  • pdf

Managing reader groups

  • Dunkel
    Licht
  • pdf

There is no German content available for this article, You are viewing the fallback version (English).

Access the reader groups overview page on the knowledge base portal

1_Screenshot-Accessing_reader_groups


Adding a new reader group

1_Screenhot-Adding_a_new_reader_group_button

  1. In Settings → Users & Security → Readers & groups and select the Reader groups tab
  2. Click on the New readers group button
  3. A New reader group blade window would open on the right. Add all the required data for the new reader group

Set up the basics

2_Screenhot-Adding_a_new_reader_group_step1

  • Group name - Type in a name for the new reader group. This is a mandatory field.

The group name should be less than or equal to 50 characters with space and can be a combination of letters, numbers, and hyphen(-). Other special characters are not permitted.

  • Description (optional)- Type in a description for the reader group. This field does not have any character limit.

Once done, click on the Next button at the bottom.

Add reader(s)

3_Screenhot-Adding_a_new_reader_group_step2

  • The list of all available reader account(s) would be listed in this section
  • You can also use the search bar to narrow down results for a reader account search
  • Hover over the desired reader account(s) and select the checkbox adjacent to them
  • If you want to select all reader accounts, click Select all

This is an optional section, as the reader(s) can be added after the new reader group has been added.

Once done, click the Next button at the bottom.

Content access

4_Screenhot-Adding_a_new_reader_group_step3

Choose the level of access for the new reader group.

  • None - No access to the knowledge base content. This selection can be changed later
  • Complete knowledge base (project) - Access the entire knowledge base content with all its version(s) and language(s)
  • Version/Language- Access specific version(s) and language(s) in the knowledge base content
  • Category - Access specific categories in selected version(s) and language(s) of the knowledge base content

Once done, click on the Next button at the bottom.

Reader access
  • For each content level, the reader's highest privilege access is taken into account
  • Readers are only given access to the content level they have been assigned

Review and finish adding the reader group

5_Screenhot-Adding_a_new_reader_group_step4

Make sure all the details for the new reader group are correct before you finish.

Click on the Add button at the bottom and the new reader group would be added and available on the overview page.
Click on the Close button to return to the reader group overview page from the blade.


Editing a Reader Group

6_Screenhot-Editing_a_reader_group_button

  1. In Settings → Users & Security → Readers & groups and select the Reader groups tab
  2. The list of already added reader group(s) would be available
  3. Click on the Edit icon on the reader group
  4. The Edit reader group blade would open on the right
  5. All the settings in the reader group can be edited
  6. Once done, click on the Update button

Deleting a Reader Group

7_Screenhot-Deleting_a_reader_group_button

  1. In Settings → Users & Security → Readers & groups and select the Reader groups tab
  2. The list of already added reader group(s) would be available
  3. Click on the Delete (trash bin) icon on the reader group
  4. A Delete confirmation prompt would appear and click on Yes to continue
  5. The reader group would be permanently deleted from the reader group list
Reader group content access

Once the reader group is deleted, the content access permissions for the reader(s) would go back to the individual permissions they have on their reader account.

Readers who are part of multiple groups get what access?

When a reader is associated with multiple groups, the highest privilege access for each content level is assigned to the reader.

For example, a reader is associated with two groups A and B. Group A is configured with access to all the languages in version 'V1' while group B is configured with access to only the English language in version 'V1'. The reader will have access to all the languages in version 'V1'.

Does the content access provided at the individual level overrides the reader group access?

When a reader is associated with reader groups and also configured with certain content access at the individual level, the highest privilege access for each content level is assigned to the reader.

For example, when a reader is configured with content access to only the English language in version 'V2' at the individual level and associated with a reader group configured with access to all the languages in version 'V2'. The reader will have access to all the languages in version 'V2'.


War dieser Artikel hilfreich?