Backup and restore
  • 27 Apr 2022
  • 3 Minutes à lire
  • Contributeurs
  • Sombre
    Lumière
  • PDF

Backup and restore

  • Sombre
    Lumière
  • PDF

There is no French content available for this article, You are viewing the fallback version (English).

Document360 automatically backs up your projects every day at 00:00 UTC. However, you can perform a manual backup at any point.

You can also restore your project to a previous state from any available backup. The below parts of your knowledge base can be restored:

For example, if a team member accidentally deletes a category from your documentation, you can restore just your documentation from the most recent backup.

Subscription plans and backup options

The backup option varies with the subscription plan.

Plan Backup validity Backup type
Business 7 days Auto
Enterprise 30 days Auto and Manual
Enterprise Plus 30 days Auto and Manual

Backup validity refers to the number of days a backup would be available for the project.

For more information, view our pricing page with elaborated subscription plans.


Creating a manual backup

The manual backup type is available only in Enterprise and Enterprise Plus plans.

  1. Go to SettingsKnowledge base portalBackup and Restore, and the Backup and Restore overview appears
  2. Click the New backup button on the top right
  3. Type in a backup name and click Backup
  4. When the backup is complete, it is added to the backup log

To restore from a backup

  1. Go to SettingsKnowledge base portalBackup and Restore, and the Backup and Restore overview appears
  2. On the desired backup, click Restore option and select the desired restore option
    • For Documentation and Home page builder: Select the checkbox of the option(s) which you want to restore and click Restore

    • For Custom CSS and Custom JavaScript: Compare the backup and current version. If you want to restore the backup version, click Restore

  3. On the confirmation prompt, click Yes
  4. The restore process will run in the background. When completed, a Backup Restored message appears

Restore options

Documentation

Restores the documentation of your project as they were when the backup was created.

When you restore an existing version/language/category/article, it is updated with the backup content.
When you restore a deleted version/language/category/article, it is added as a new version/language/category/article.

  • You can select the desired versions, languages, categories, or articles
  • Toggle Select all to select the complete documentation

For example, you want to retrieve the documentation of a recently deleted language.

  • Go to SettingsKnowledge base portalBackup and RestoreRestore optionDocumentation → Select the desired language → Restore
View article/category page

In the Restore documentation blade, hover the mouse pointer over any article/category page, and the View option appears next to it. Click View to view the backup content of the respective article/category page

Home page builder

Restores your project's home page (styles, section layout, content, theme, etc.) as it was when the backup was created.

  • You can select the desired versions and languages
  • Toggle Select all to select all the versions and languages

For example, if you want to retrieve the recently changed home page theme, you can use the restore option to retrieve it.

  • Go to SettingsKnowledge base portalBackup and RestoreRestore optionHome page builder → Select the desired option → Restore

Custom CSS

Restores the custom CSS of the knowledge base site when the backup was created.

  • You can compare the custom CSS of the backup and the current version. The changes made in current version are highlighted
  • If required, you can copy the CSS codes of the backup and current version. To copy, click the Copy code snippet icon next to the respective version

For example, if you want to retrieve the recently changed CSS snippet, you can use the restore option to retrieve it.

  • Go to SettingsKnowledge base portalBackup and RestoreRestore optionCustom CSS → Compare the backup and the current version → Restore

Custom JavaScript

Restores the custom JavaScript of the knowledge base site when the backup was created.

  • You can compare the custom JavaScript of the backup and the current version. The changes made in current version are highlighted
  • If required, you can copy the JavaScript codes of the backup and current version. To copy, click the Copy code snippet icon next to the respective version

For example, if you want to retrieve the recently changed JavaScript snippet, you can use the restore option to retrieve it.

  • Go to SettingsKnowledge base portalBackup and RestoreRestore optionCustom JavaScript → Compare the backup and the current version → Restore

Cet article vous a-t-il été utile ?

What's Next