Private Notes
  • 25 May 2022
  • 2 Minutes à lire
  • Contributeurs
  • Sombre
    Lumière
  • PDF

Private Notes

  • Sombre
    Lumière
  • PDF

There is no French content available for this article, You are viewing the fallback version (English).

Private notes are text elements that, though included within the article text, will not show on public articles except for project team accounts and specific reader groups. These notes can be added in both the Markdown and WYSIWYG editors.

Private notes in WYSIWYG editor

The private notes get selective visibility setting when used from the WYSIWYG editor.

Using private notes

Private notes are perfect for telling a project team member when a bit of information might need to be double-checked or to even leave an editorial note to yourself with future improvements.

They also come in handy when you want to leave extra contextual information for other project team members who might use the same documentation as your customers.


1. Private notes on Markdown editor

Click the private notes icon from the Markdown toolbars in the Documentation editor.

1_Screenshot-Private_notes_tool_in_markdown_tools

Markdown syntax

:::(Internal) (Private note title)
Add private note text only visible to team accounts.
:::

2_Screenshot-Private_notes_in_markdown

The title and content of the private note can be edited.

Here is how the private note appears in the knowledge base site

For team accounts & authorized readers

On Public, Private, and Mixed access knowledge base sites.

For other site visitors

On Public and Mixed access knowledge base sites.
4_ScreenGIF-Private_notes_in_markdown_for_other_users

Delete private note

To remove the private note from the article or category page, delete the syntax from the editor.

A private note cannot be deleted on a published article or category page and the preview pane.


2. Private notes on WYSIWYG editor

Click the private notes icon from the WYSIWYG toolbars in the Documentation editor.

5_Screenshot-Private_notes_in_WYSIWYG

Once the private note appears in the article, the Visibility setting and Delete icon appears on the top-right of the note.

Visibility setting

Click on the Setting (gear icon) on the private note. A popup window appears with three options.

6_Screenshot-Private_notes_in_WYSIWYG_visibility_settings

  • All team accounts - This is the default setting when adding a private note. If the toggle is turned on, the private note appears to all the team accounts added to the project.
  • Security groups - Click on the dropdown arrow to view and select all the team account group(s) available in the project.
  • Reader groups - This option applies only on Private and Mixed mode knowledge base. Click on the dropdown arrow to view and select all the reader group(s) available in the project.

Delete private note

To remove the private note from the article or category page, click on the Delete (Trash bin) icon inside the note.

7_Screenshot-Private_notes_in_WYSIWYG_delete

A private note cannot be deleted on a published article or category page. Click on the Edit icon.



Cet article vous a-t-il été utile ?