Managing reader groups
  • 17 Jan 2023
  • 3 Minutes to read
  • Contributors
  • Dark
    Light
  • PDF

Managing reader groups

  • Dark
    Light
  • PDF

Accessing the reader groups overview page on the Knowledge base portal

1_Screenshot-Accessing_reader_groups

  1. Go to Settings → Users & Security → Readers & groupsReader groups
  2. The list of available reader groups appears

Adding a new reader group

1_Screenhot-Adding_a_new_reader_group_button

  1. Go to Settings → Users & Security → Readers & groupsReader groups
  2. Click the New reader group button
  3. A New reader group blade appears on the right

a. Set up the basics

2_Screenhot-Adding_a_new_reader_group_step1

  • Group name - Type in a name for the new reader group. This field is mandatory.

The group name should be less than or equal to 50 characters (including space) and can be a combination of letters, numbers, and hyphen(-). Other special characters are not permitted.

  • Description (optional)- Type in a description for the reader group. This field does not have any character limit.

Once done, click the Next button at the bottom.


b. Add readers

3_Screenhot-Adding_a_new_reader_group_step2

Associate the desired readers with the group. The list of all available reader accounts would be listed in this section.

  • Hover over the desired reader account(s) and select the checkbox adjacent to them
  • You can also use the search bar to narrow down results for a reader account search
  • If you want to select all reader accounts, click Select all

This is an optional section, as the reader(s) can be added after the new reader group has been added.

Once done, click the Next button at the bottom.

c. Content access

4_Screenhot-Adding_a_new_reader_group_step3

Choose the level of access for the new reader group.

  • None - No access to the knowledge base content. This selection can be changed later
  • Complete knowledge base (project) - Access the entire knowledge base content with all its version(s) and language(s)
  • Version/Language- Access specific version(s) and language(s) in the knowledge base content
  • Category - Access specific categories in selected version(s) and language(s) of the knowledge base content

Once done, click on the Next button at the bottom.

Reader access
  • For each content level, the reader's highest privilege access is taken into account

For example, if you wish to configure permissions only by reader group's permissions, set the individual content access of the reader as 'None' and configure the desired content access in the reader group.

  • Readers are only given access to the content level they have been assigned

d. Review and finish

5_Screenhot-Adding_a_new_reader_group_step4

Make sure all the details for the new reader group are correct before you finish.

Click on the Add button at the bottom and the new reader group would be added and available on the overview page.
Click on the Close button to return to the reader group overview page from the blade.


Editing a Reader Group

6_Screenhot-Editing_a_reader_group_button

  1. Go to Settings → Users & Security → Readers & groupsReader groups. The list of already added reader groups appears
  2. Hover over the desired reader group and click the Edit (pencil) icon on the right
  3. The Edit reader group blade appears on the right
  4. Update the desired settings in the reader group
  5. Once done, click the Update button

Deleting a Reader Group

7_Screenhot-Deleting_a_reader_group_button

  1. In Settings → Users & Security → Readers & groupsReader groups. The list of already added reader groups appears
  2. Hover over the desired reader group and click the Remove (trash bin) icon on the right
  3. Click Yes in the Delete confirmation prompt

The reader group would be permanently deleted from the reader group list.


Reader group content access

Once the reader group is deleted, the content access permissions for the reader(s) would go back to the individual permissions they have on their reader account.

Readers who are part of multiple groups get what access?

When a reader is associated with multiple groups, the highest privilege access for each content level is assigned to the reader.

For example, a reader is associated with two groups A and B. Group A is configured with access to all the languages in version 'V1' while group B is configured with access to only the English language in version 'V1'. The reader will have access to all the languages in version 'V1'.

Does the content access provided at the individual level overrides the reader group access?

When a reader is associated with reader groups and also configured with certain content access at the individual level, the highest privilege access for each content level is assigned to the reader.

For example, when a reader is configured with content access to only the English language in version 'V2' at the individual level and associated with a reader group configured with access to all the languages in version 'V2'. The reader will have access to all the languages in version 'V2'.


Was this article helpful?