Troubleshooting
  • 16 Jun 2022
  • 2 Minutes to read
  • Contributors
  • Dark
    Light
  • PDF

Troubleshooting

  • Dark
    Light
  • PDF

Content access permission of the reader group is not affecting the readers

The highest privilege content access provided is applied to the readers.

The reader could have higher privilege content access than the reader group.

  1. Check the individual content access of the Reader in the readers list
    • Go to SettingsUsers & SecurityReaders & groupsReaders and the list of readers available in the project appears
    • Hover over the desired reader and click the Edit (Pencil) icon. Update reader blade appears on the right
    • Click Next to go Content access section
    • You can find the Content access of the reader
    • If the Content access provided is higher than the reader group, restrict the reader with less privilege access or None
    • Go to Finish section and click Update

  1. Check whether the reader is associated with any other Reader group with higher privilege
    • Go to SettingsUsers & SecurityReaders & groupsReaders and the list of readers available in the project appears
    • Hover over the desired reader and click the Edit (Pencil) icon. Update reader blade appears on the right
    • Go to Groups section
    • You can find the list of groups the reader is associated with. Note down the groups in your desired space and close the blade
    • Now navigate to the Reader groups tab and you can find the list of reader groups available in the project
    • Hover the desired reader group and click the Edit (Pencil) icon. Edit reader group blade appears on the right
    • Go to Content access
    • You can find the Content access of the reader group
    • If the Content access provided is higher than the reader group, change the reader group access or remove the reader from that group
How to avoid this scenario in the future?

When you want to assign access permissions with a reader group, update content access as None for individual readers in the readers list and associate them with the desired reader groups. If you provide content access as Complete knowledge base(Project) to an individual reader, the reader will have access to the whole project irrespective of the associated reader group.


How to resolve the error - 'Too Many Redirection'?

The below scenario is one of the reasons for this error.
The private version of a mixed site access project would be unmarked as public. Go to the Version settings in the Knowledge base portal and check whether the version is marked public.
1_Screesnhot-Public_checkbox_marking

1. Go to SettingsKnowledge base portalLocalization & Versions, and you can find the list of versions available in your project
2. Click the Edit (pencil) icon of your desired version
3. Under the Choose version status section, make sure that the public checkbox is marked
4. If unmarked, select the checkbox and click Update


Was this article helpful?