Adding a new project version
  • 27 Apr 2022
  • 4 Minutes to read
  • Contributors
  • Dark
    Light
  • PDF

Adding a new project version

  • Dark
    Light
  • PDF

You can add a certain number of new versions for your project depending on the annual or monthly plan.

Subscription plans and versions

Subscription Plan Knowledge base versions
Startup 1
Business 2
Enterprise 2
Enterprise plus 2

Check Document360's pricing page for more information.

  1. From the knowledge base portal, go to SettingsLocalization & Versions and the Localization & Versions tab is the default selection
  2. Click on the New version button on the top right
  3. An Add new version blade window appears (the different parameters explained in the next segment)
  4. After you've added all the details, click on Add at the bottom right

Add new version

  • Name - Type in the name for your new version (Maximum 30 characters long). The name can be in your preferred language
  • Slug URL – Type in your custom URL slug in your preferred language (Cannot be edited after the version is created)
  • Version status – You can select the status of your new version as beta, public or deprecated. However, the Main version should be public and cannot be deprecated

When you visit the knowledge base portal or knowledge base site, the version you have set as the main version appears at the first instance, irrespective of the version order.

Base version

Clone existing version

If you choose Select an existing version, select all or specific categories(optional) you want to copy from the base version.

The articles from the selected categories are copied onto the new version you create. This is optional, and if no choice is made, the project automatically copies all articles.

Internal links

There are two options to choose from, New(default) and Existing.

  • If you select New, all the internal article links would be altered to point to the newly created version of the article.

For example, /v2/docs/Installation would be changed to /v3/docs/Installation)

  • If you select Existing, all the internal article links in the new version would still point to the base version's article.

14_Screenshot-Internal_links_in_new_version

Fresh version

But if you want a fresh new version with no categories or articles, choose the Start a fresh version option.

5_Screenshot-Adding_version_fresh_version

Home page themes
  • When you create a new version with the Start a fresh version option, the Default theme is configured for the home page across all the languages in the new version.

For example, you are creating a new version "Version 6" with the Start a fresh version option, and the languages available are English, Arabic, and Chinese. The English, Arabic, and Chinese home page theme are configured with the Default theme.

  • When you create a new version with the Select an existing version option, the theme of the respective language(s) of the selected version is configured for the language(s) in the new version. If you add any new language(s), the Default theme is configured for the home page of the new language(s).

For example, you are creating a new version "v2.0" with existing version "v1.0" as the base version and French, English, and German are the languages available in the existing version "v1.0". If you add Arabian language in the window, the home page of Arabian language is configured with Default theme. The theme of the French, English, and German language in the new version "v2.0" is the same as the theme of the respective languages.

New language in existing version
When you add a new language to the existing version, the theme of the default language in the version is configured for the home page of the new language.

  • Languages – The default language would be English. To add more languages, click on Add new language, select the required languages from the list and click on Apply
    To choose the default language:
    Click ••• icon next to the preferred language → Set as default
Default language

The default language option cannot be edited once the version has been created. However users can Add, Hide, or Delete non-default languages later


Reorder versions

You can reorder the different versions of your project as you wish. The order you set would be displayed to your reader when they click on the select version dropdown in your Knowledge base.

  1. From the knowledge base portal, go to SettingsLocalization & Versions and the Localization & Versions tab is the default selection
  2. You can find the list of versions added to your project
  3. On the left of each version, you can find the Reorder icon
  4. Click on it, hold, drag, and drop the version vertically to place it in the position you prefer
  5. The version order is reflected on both the Knowledge base portal and Knowledge base site for team accounts. For readers, the version order is reflected only in the Knowledge base site

Public version(s) as a menu

There are two display options for version(s) in your knowledge base site.

1. Version as a dropdown (default)

This type of version display is the default setting in your knowledge base. This version dropdown can be seen on the top bar between the search and home button.

If there is only one version in your project, the version dropdown will not be displayed in the knowledge base site.

To access the version display setting, go to

Settings → Knowledge base portal → Localization & Versions → Localization & Versions (tab) → Display public version(s) as a menu (toggle) → Off

2. Version as a menu

The public version(s) can be displayed as a menu below the top-bar on your knowledge base site.

Existing menu

If any menu option is already in place, enabling the version as menu option would override the setting.

To access the version display setting, go to

Settings → Knowledge base portal → Localization & Versions → Localization & Versions (tab) → Display public version(s) as a menu (toggle) → On


Was this article helpful?