Shared articles
  • 22 Oct 2022
  • 4 Minutes to read
  • Contributors
  • Dark
    Light
  • PDF

Shared articles

  • Dark
    Light
  • PDF

The Shared article feature lets you display one article in multiple categories. The shared articles are termed as References.


Accessing the feature

1. Also share in

You can access the Also share in option in three different ways.

Method 1

Use the ••• More option next to the article in the category manager and select Also display in, choose the Category/Subcategory, and click on the Share button.

1_Screenshot-Accessing_also_display_in_method_1

Method 2

Use the ••• More option next to the article in the category Index view(In portal) and select Also display in, choose the category/subcategory, and click on the Share button.

2_Screenshot-Accessing_also_display_in_method_2

Method 3

Use the ••• More option at the top right, next to the 'Publish' button. Select Also display in, choose the category/subcategory, and click on the Share button.

3_Screenshot-Accessing_also_display_in_method_3

Bulk sharing

You can choose multiple categories when you share an Article.

4_Screenshot-Accessing_also_display_in_share_prompt

The article would be referenced in the selected categories/subcategories. It can be identified with the share icon displayed next to it.

2. New article - Link existing

The shared article feature can also be accessed when creating a new article.

  1. Select the Link existing in the Add article module
  2. Search and select an article from the Select article search bar
  3. Click on the Create button.

8_Screenshot-Add_article_module_Link_existing

The article would be referenced in the selected category/subcategory. It can be identified with the share icon displayed next to it.

9_Screenshot-Add_article_module_Link_existing_after_creation


Article attributes

Original article

5_Screenshot-Original_article_POV

  • The original article serves as a primary copy, and all the changes to content and settings would reflect across all the shared copies(references)
  • Click on the View references icon on the right in the editor to view the linked instances.

Referenced article

6_Screenshot-Shared_article_POV

  • This referenced article does not have any edit capabilities
  • Except for the article slug, all the other elements are linked to the original article
  • A bar is visible at the top of the article

If the original article is deleted, the referenced article will not exist anymore.


View references

The View references option in the article menus on the right is available only for original articles that have been shared. It is not available for regular or referenced articles/category pages.

Click on the View references to view the reference of the original article in a particular language.

  1. Navigate to the desired shared article in the Knowledge base portal
  2. Click the View references option in the right side menu, and a References blade appears on the right
  3. In the References blade, all the article references are listed with the below information,

7_Screenshot-Original_article_view_refereces_blade

  1. Contributor profile picture
  2. Article name
  3. Category name or Category breadcrumb
  4. Article status Indicator
  5. Last modified information

Remove reference

The Remove reference would stop sharing the original article in the selected category. You can remove the reference from different places in the Knowledge base portal.

Method 1

In the original article on the documentation editor,

  • Click the View references option in the right side menu, and a References blade appears on the right
  • Click Remove reference (trash bin) icon next to the article you want to stop sharing

8_Screenshot-Remove_reference_method_1

Method 2

In the Category manager of the documentation editor,

  • Click the ••• More next to the referenced article
  • Select Remove reference

9_Screenshot-Remove_reference_method_2

Method 3

In the category Index view of the documentation editor,

  • Click the ••• More next to the referenced article
  • Select Remove reference

10_Screenshot-Remove_reference_method_3

Method 4

In the shared article view of the documentation editor,

  • Click the ••• More next at the top
  • Select Remove reference
    11_Screenshot-Remove_reference_method_4

Method 5

In the shared article view of the documentation editor,

  • Select the Remove reference option in the top bar next to the 'Go to original article' option

12_Screenshot-Remove_reference_method_5

Method 6

In the original article on the bulk operations overview page

  • Click the View references icon, and a References blade appears on the right
  • Click Remove reference (trash bin) icon next to the article you want to stop sharing

13_Screenshot-Remove_reference_method_6

If the original article is deleted, the referenced article will not exist anymore.


Was this article helpful?