Content role
  • 01 Feb 2022
  • 5 Minuten te lezen
  • Bijdragers
  • Donker
    Licht
  • Pdf

Content role

  • Donker
    Licht
  • Pdf

There is no Dutch content available for this article, You are viewing the fallback version (English).

When a new team account is added to a Document360 project, they’ll be assigned a content role. It contains the knowledge base content level that a team account can access in the knowledge base.


What is a content role?

Content role defines the permission for knowledge base content a team account can perform in the knowledge base portal.


Accessing the Content role

1_Screenshot-Access overview page_content_role

  • From the knowledge base portal, click on SettingsUsers & SecurityRoles and select the Content role tab
  • The list of content roles available in the knowledge base would appear
  • You can add custom content roles with specific permission as per your requirements

Content role overview page elements

2_Screenshot_Content role elements_content_role

1. Content roles list

This section provides an overview and the list of all available content roles in your knowledge base project. The content roles that come with Document360 by default such as None, Editor, and Draft writer are not editable

a. Edit content role

You can edit the custom content roles.

For example, if you want to enable the audit configuration management feature access, you can turn on the Manage audit configuration toggle

You cannot edit the default portal roles such as None, Editor, and Draft writer.

  1. From the knowledge base portal, click on SettingsUsers & SecurityRoles and select the Content role tab
  2. The list of content roles available in the knowledge base would appear

3_Screenshot-Edit content_role

  1. Hover the mouse pointer over the content role you want to edit, you would see the Edit role icon on the right
  2. Click on the Edit role icon. The Edit content role blade window would appear on the right
  3. All the settings in the Portal role can be edited
  4. Once done, click on the Update button

b. Clone content role

You can duplicate a new content role with an available content role. This option comes in handy when you need two similar roles and only a minor deviation in access is applicable. In that case, you can create one new content role and then clone the new content role to create another similar portal role

  1. From the knowledge base portal, click on SettingsUsers & SecurityRoles and select the Content role tab
  2. The list of content roles available in the knowledge base would appear

4_Screenshot-Clone content role

  1. Hover the mouse pointer over the content role you want to clone, you would see the Clone role icon on the right
  2. Click on the Clone role icon. The Clone content role blade window would appear on the right

a. Set up basics

5_Screenshot-Clone content role set up the basics

  • Role name: Type in a specific role name to easily identify it

Two content roles cannot have the same name.

  • Description: Add a small description for your new role
    Once done, click on the Next button at the bottom.

b. Role access

6_Screenshot-Clone content role role access

  • The roles applicable for the content role which was cloned would appear here
  • You can change the roles as per your requirement
  • Enable/disable the roles of the available feature by turning on/off the toggle icon present near them
    Once done, click on the Next button at the bottom.

c. Review and finish

7_Screenshot-Clone content role review

  • Review the role name, description, and the roles assigned.
  • If you want to update, click on the Previous icon to go back to the previous window
  • After updating, click on the Finish button.
  • The new portal role would be added to the portal role list

c. View role access

You can view the access of a content role in the project.

  1. From the knowledge base portal, click on SettingsUsers & SecurityRoles and select the Content role tab
  2. The list of content roles available in the knowledge base would appear

8_Screenshot-Content_role_view permission

  1. Hover over the content role for which you want to view the content role access, you would see the View role access icon on the right
  2. Click on the View role access icon. The Role details blade window would appear on the right

You can only view the information in this blade window.
You cannot update the content role information in this blade window.

Only default content roles such as None, Editor, and Draft writer have the view access option.
Custom content roles do not have this option.

a. Set up the basics

9_Screenshot-Content_role_set up basics view access

You would see the Role name and Description provided for the selected role

b. Role access

10_Screenshot-Content_role_view access role access

You would see the list of content access applicable for the selected role


d. Sorting content roles list

11_Screenshot-Content_role_sort role

  • Click on the Role name bar to sort the list by name in alphabetical order.
  • "↑" and "↓" icons displayed in the bar shows the sort type

2. Custom content roles

12_Screenshot-New content role

a. From the knowledge base portal, click on SettingsUsers & SecurityRoles and select the Content role tab
b. Click on the Add content role button. The Add content role blade window would appear on the right

a. Set up basics

13_Screenshot-new content role_setup_the_basics

  • Role name: Type in a specific role name to easily identify it

Two content roles cannot have the same name.

  • Description: Add a small description for your new role
    Once done, click on the Next button at the bottom.

b. Role access

14_Screenshot-new content role_role access

  • Configure the custom permission set for this role
  • You can assign access for the available features by turning on/off the toggle icon present near them
    Once done, click on the Next button at the bottom.

c. Review and finish

15_Screenshot-New content role_review

  • Review the role name, description, and the roles assigned.
  • If you want to update, click on the Previous icon to go back to the previous window
  • After updating, click on the Finish button to create the new content role

3. Delete content role

You can delete the custom content roles available in the project.

You cannot delete the default content roles such as None, Editor, and Draft writer.

  1. From the knowledge base portal, click on SettingsUsers & SecurityRoles and select the Content role tab
  2. The list of content roles available in the knowledge base would appear

16_Screenshot-Delete_content_role

  1. When you hover the mouse pointer over the available content roles, a check box would appear on the left
  2. Select the check box of the content role(s) you want to delete.

You can delete multiple content roles simultaneously

  1. Click on the Delete icon on the top right

17_Screenshot_Delete confirmation prompt

  1. The Delete role confirmation prompt window would appear
  2. Click on the Yes button
  3. The selected content role(s) would be successfully deleted

Was dit artikel behulpzaam