Recycle bin for articles and categories
  • 01 Apr 2022
  • 3 Minutos para leer
  • Colaboradores
  • Oscuro
    Ligero
  • PDF

Recycle bin for articles and categories

  • Oscuro
    Ligero
  • PDF

There is no Spanish content available for this article, You are viewing the fallback version (English).

Recycle bin for deleted categories and articles is now available in the Document360 portal. Now users don’t have to worry about accidental article/category deletions, as the item would be available in the recycle bin.

Users can restore the deleted item anytime in the next 30 days unless the article/category has been manually deleted from the recycle bin as well.


Accessing the Recycle bin for articles and categories

1_Screenshot-Accessing_Recycle_bin_for_articles

  • The Recycle bin can be found above the category manager (left navigation pane).
  • Click on the option to open the Recycle bin. This looks and works similar to the Recycle bin for files on the Drive
  • Users can find the deleted article/category along with the information like Name, category path, deleted by, date modified, and date deleted
  • Click on the individual column headings to sort the list
  • If there are more items, the pagination would be used with 50 entries per page for easy navigation

Recycle bin actions

1. Search and filter

Users can search for articles or categories inside the Recycle bin using the Search option available at the top of the page. Users can search through the bin with keywords.

2_Screenshot-Search_functionality_in_recycle_bin_for_articles

Narrow down the results with one of the two filter options provided.
a. Author - Filter by selecting one or multiple authors from the list.
b. Entity - Choose the type of item you want to filter the results (All, Category, or Article)

2. Restore

The Restore function is a core aspect of any Recycle bin. This helps address any accidental deletion of articles or categories. By default, this option would be hidden unless an article or category is selected from the list.

5_Screenshot-Restore_option_recycle_bin

Users can select all, single, or multiple categories/articles from the list and click on the Restore button at the top left.

(or)

Individual deleted items can also be restored in a matter of seconds by clicking on the ••• More → Restore option

(or)

Hover over the deleted category from the list, click on the ••• More → View option. In the preview window, users can preview and choose the subcategories/article and click on the Restore option at the top of the window.

The selected article(s)/category would be added back to its original place in the knowledge base.

3. Delete forever

In the recycle bin, by default, the Delete forever option would be hidden unless an article or category is selected from the list.

4_Screenshot-Delete_forever_recycle_bin

Users can select all, single, or multiple categories/articles from the list and click on the Delete forever button at the top left.

(or)

Individual deleted items can also be removed from the recycle bin in a matter of seconds by clicking on the ••• More → Delete forever option.

(or)

Hover over the deleted category from the list, click on the ••• More → View option. In the preview window, users can preview and choose the subcategories/article and click on the Delete forever option at the top of the window.

4. Preview articles/categories

Users can have a quick look at the deleted article or category before restoring them or deleting them forever.

6_Screenshot-Preview_article_option_recycle_bin

Hover over the deleted category from the list, click on the ••• More → View option

  • If the View option is chosen for any article, the preview of the actual article would open on the right. Click on the X at the top right to close the preview
    8_Screenshot-Preview_article_window_option_recycle_bin

  • If the View option is chosen for any category, then the entire tree-view of the subcategories and articles would be available. The articles can be further previewed from here by clicking on the eye icon next to the file. Click on the Back to return to the previous page.
    7_Screenshot-Preview_category_option_recycle_bin

Users can perform the Delete forever and Restore on single or multiple articles/sub-categories from this section as well.

5. Empty recycle bin

The Empty recycle bin option can be found on the top right of the page. Once the user clicks on this, all the items in the recycle bin would be deleted forever. This action cannot be reversed.

3_Screenshot-Empty_recycle_bin_for_articles


Check out the below tutorial video:


¿Te resultó útil este artículo?